CSV fie importdirectly

I am new to Mode. Is there a way we can import csv file without connecting to any db 

5replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • Hi srinivasan ramaswamy - thanks for writing in.

Currently there are a number of options that you can use to explore your own CSV data using Mode:

1) Upload to the Mode Public Warehouse - Mode hosts a free PostgreSQL database that you can upload CSV data to. Note that all data in the Mode Public Warehouse is queryable by anyone with a Mode account, so it's not a good fit for sensitive data. More info here: https://help.modeanalytics.com/articles/data-sources/#mode-public-warehouse

2) Upload to Google Sheets and connect to Google BigQuery - With some configuration you can use your CSVs uploaded to Google Sheets as the underlying data for an instance of Google BigQuery. More info here: https://help.modeanalytics.com/articles/database-specific-connection-information/#use-bigquery-to-query-google-sheets

The above options carry some limitations/complexity, so we are in the process of investigating additional ways to enhance our product to make this process easier.

Hope that helps - please do reach out to our success team via in-product chat or success@modeanalytics.com if we can be of further assistance. Thanks!

• Jonathan Krangel is this still the case? Is this still how one would upload data from a .csv? I assume if I had Excel data I would save as a .csv or copy it into Google Sheets and proceed with the steps. Is that correct?

• Jonathan Krangel replying just so that this get's seen. Super interested in a how for this as well. Thanks!

• Jonathan Krangel This is an important feature. Is there any update on this?